• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

93 K2500 Mechanical with an ATT ?

bowtiebutler956

Reaction score
Hello all, this is my first post even though I have been a member 4yrs now. Thats alot of lurking!:D Anyway, I decided to finally join the fun. Just to give a quick background on myself, I've been an auto mechanic all my life(I'm 39 yrs old), and I'm currently managing a shop that takes care of a fleet of vehicles. Primarily 1 ton Ford vans (gas) with both the 5.4, and 6.8 v10 engines. My diesel experience is very limited.
Back when I joined here I had a 93 K3500 4 door, 4x4, 6.5TD, Auto, and a 88 C30 with a 6.2, 4.56's, and a 4 speed (more like a 3 speed with a granny gear) trans, and a toolbox bed. A little after 300,000 miles the 94 6.5 started getting compression in the cooling system, and with rest of the truck being quite wore out, I deemed it not worthy of a new engine, and sold it. I continued driving the 88 C30, which was really a great truck, but with 4.56 gears, and no od, it topped out between 55-60. Not to mention that a 6.2 NA didn't have much power. I could be outrun by a VW bug. :rolleyes5: Eventually I got a 96 G30 van with a 6.5 NA, and a 4L80E. Even though its a 96, it came from the factory with mechanical DB2 (5088) IP. I believe the 96 G30 was the last year GM put a mechanical IP on the 6.5, but I could be wrong. This has been, and still is a fantastic service van, and runs very strong considering its 6.5 NA.