• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

My Water to Air intercooler install

If you use water soluble oil, same as water wetter ratio.

The water wetter is the optimum blend, but the regular oil can usually be had free from machinists in small amounts , so a good cheaper option that's better than none.

I am no expert but am still a bit skeptical. Air bubbles or voids can siphon through a small hose I have done that but larger voids, like the end tank of the IC and end tanks of radiator under the truck, I don't see how a vacuum can pull all the air "under water" or through I imagine what are variations of something like a P trap. Yeah, a vacuum can draw fluid but 25" of water is nowhere near a complete vacuum so I wonder if air voids are still left.

I can see the advantage of the vacuum filler pulling initial fluid inward and not pushing extra air into the system by pushing the air in the hose (from the expansion tank/reservoir to radiator) towards the system. But evacuating all the air I am not so sure about.

Saying it similarly maybe the size of the fill hose is small enough and the vacuum is small enough that the fill rate doesn't fill the whole hose cross section (from reservoir to system) and it doesn't extrude the extra air towards the system.