• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

What axles should I use?

monzajhon1968

Monzajhon1968
Reaction score
Hi all!
I am new to DTR and there might be a thread on this allready if could help me find it or just any help would be awsome! What would be the best all around gear ratio to use in my 1986 suburban 6.5 with a banks turbo. The 6.5 is a N/A out of a bus with low miles I am going to put a banks kit on it. I have a 700r4 tranny that is going in it. Its out of a 87 6.2 4x4. I have two sets of rear end gears 4.10 and 3.73. I will be doing a little towing with this truck ie; car trailer and a 22 ft camper and possibly a enclosed car trailer 20 ft. But I will use this truck around town and a family vacation vechicle not always towing. I have a set of 265/75/16 wheels and tires and probably wont go any bigger my monster truck days are done! Any help would be appreciated I am going to build the 4x4 drivetrain first and then do the body swap later. I dont want to cripple the 2wd burb yet going to use it this summer for a vacation the 2wd has a big block with 4.10 gears I am so done with 8 mpg. BB has got to go! I am guessing the diesel will get at least 16 mpg thats double what I am getting now.
Thanks

3.73's would be a good all around gear, but the 700R4 stock will NOT handle a 6.5 with a turbo. They couldn't really handle a 6.2 without a turbo very well. The tranny will definately be your weak link, a 4L80E would be money ahead in the long run IMO.