• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Pre installation mods for hx40wII

93detroit

Reaction score
Hello Everyone! I'm new to TTS but I've been over at TDP for a while. I added some new questions to an older post of mine over there but didn't get any bites. I'm thinking the people who can help me probably didn't see it, or they know that I'm beyond help! Here goes: I just bought a hx40wII and everything that a DP member said about them is true. The wastegate port is about 9/16". Can/should I open this up to 3/4" to help control boost/boost creep? I believe I read that a real hx35 has a .775" port. It came with a 12 blade turbine- should I let this alone or find a 10 blade before I even put it in the truck? I am building a '93 k2500 (4.10 gears) for towing heavy and have already installed an intercooler. Not looking for Earth rotating power (it is a 6.5!), just need to keep egt and water temps down on the local mountains.

Thanks for any help in advance!

Oh, and welcome to TTS. Everybody is here to help and the only requirement is to check any attitudes at the door. There are people on here with TONS of 6.5 experience, some of it in boldly doing with the 6.2/6.5 platform things that have never been attempted before and probably won't again. For example, drag racing 6.5's on experimental fuels. Radically modified mechanical injection pumps. Built motors putting out dyno verified 400hp/700tq at the crank. You've come to the right place.