• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Eaton G80 Axle Shaft Removal?? How Do I??

handcannon

Reaction score
Like the title says, I need to pull the axle shafts from an Eaton G80.

I picked up a complete rear axle from an 03 Tahoe for parts. I need to remove the axles so I can pull the complete brake assembly from the housing. I took off the cover thinking all I had to do was pull the center pin to get the C clips off. I got surprised! I am not very experienced with differentials and ended up stumped on how to get to the C clips.

I spent some time searching and found out it is an Eaton G80. I watched several videos that explained how they work, but not how to remove the axles. Removing the center pin is easy. But once the center pin is out the center block does not come out the way I'm used to. The G80 centrifugal counterweight mechanism is in the way and apparently needs to be removed to allow removal of the center block.

Does anybody have detailed info for axle shaft removal from a G80?

Don

Edit: on re-reading my post I happened to wonder if all I had to do was push inward on the axle shafts when I had the center pin out. Hmmm!!! Maybe if I get home in time tomorrow (as in enough daylight) I'll give that a try.]