• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

6.5L GMC. Smoking. 61k miles

Nowaydude

Reaction score
Hi: Im new to diesels, i came across a 2000 gmc 3500 with a 6.5l diesel engine, I picked it up cheap with a plow. The only thing I had to do was put 1 lifter in it, and put it back together, the lifter had went bad at 61k miles, I did not here it run befor buying it, it was apart.It starts right up and sounds ok but seems to smoke like its getting too much fuel. I haven't drove it yet, don't want to mess it up if too much fuel. Could it be a bad injector or something to do with the valve train everyhing looked ok on the rocker arms. If one or more of the injectors is leaking by, would I be able to tell by cracking the fuel line and see the smoke stop? I know the engine should stumble. Any Ideas? Thanks. Mike

Welcome to The Truck Stop, Mike.

I am sure some of these great 6.5 diesel guys will chime in about your issue with your truck, just be patient, some of them are probably up to their elbows working on a 6.5 or another project.

Welcome to the forum and nice find on the truck. Bigger kudos for putting it all together and getting it running.
The diagnostic checklist is a great place to start for running down new problems or, as I did, setting a baseline of 'what's what' on the truck as well as a means of educating myself on the 6.5 as I was a complete newbie.