Buy Viagra with Dapoxetine online at our pharmacy. No prescription required. Lowest price guaranteed. Free Worldwide Shipping. Reorders huge Discount.
buy antibiotics online


THIS AD DOES NOT APPEAR TO REGISTERED USERS!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: 6.2 Glow Plug Controller

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Illinos
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    11241


    Default 6.2 Glow Plug Controller

    Hi All,
    I replaced the Glow Plug Controller about 8 months ago with an AC Delco that I bought on ebay... The truck ran fine with no problems till last week. Glow plug light does not come on any more.
    I turn the key, no glow plug light... only the momentary: water in fuel light, which is normal. The engine cranks normal, but will not start. There is no Glow Plug Inhibit Switch located on top of the engine block, so I don't think there is one.
    Is this just a bad controller, or do I need to check something else?
    Thanks...



    1988 Chevy Crew Cab with the 6.2

  2. #2
    Registered User NVW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Castor, AB.
    Posts
    6,939
    Member #
    110


    Default

    Fuse?
    Leo
    * 95 GMC 3500 4x4 dually, VIN "F", 4.10 gears, 4L80/E trans, 405,000km, 3" downpipe, 4" exhaust, FSD mounted on heat sink in bumper, #9 resistor, 3 pillar gauge's, High Idle kit, Bosch marine injectors, Bosch Duraterm glow plugs, Leroy's ATT chip, ATT, GP overide, K47 airbox, FTB, Racor fuel filter, fuel pressure gauge
    * 98 Chev. 1500 4x4 VIN "S", 3.73 gears 250,000 km, (needs work)
    * 97 GMC C3500 VIN "F", 4.10 gears, 5 spd manual, 324,000 k (parts)
    * 04 Yukon Denali, 6.0, 196,000 km.
    * GMTD ScanTech
    * CarCode

  3. #3
    Registered User ak diesel driver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    alaska
    Posts
    9,301
    Member #
    2334


    Default

    glow plugs good?
    96 gmc k2500 4" exhaust, marine inj, #9 resistor, GL4, turbomaster, duraterms,-1.94 TDCO,FTB, remote pmd, isspro pillar gauges, lift pump relay added ,141 block, 2 1000 w block heaters, 2 150w glue on oilpan heaters, 2 150w glue on transpan heaters, 97 K47 air filter , IP replaced at 229k ,gear drive set awaiting install, Parts for intercooler waiting to be installed

    94 k1500 excab sb 6.5 plow truck. Fisher plow w/engine driven pump, F intake, h/m turbomaster, plowing chip by Buddy, remote PMD w#9 resistor, Duraterms

    96 k3500 CC 6.5 dually
    94 k2500 excab lb 6.5 parts truck
    00 burb 5.3 wifes
    70 Ford reg cab lb 428 cj richmond 5spd lockers 35s
    75 Vette built 383 needs work
    62 Tempest convertible way on the back burner project
    85 Honda VF1000R
    90 P30 Cummins BT4 work van
    90 Int SA dump w/trailer
    416c backhoe

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Trenton ON
    Posts
    1,419
    Member #
    649
    Member of Old School Smokers



    Default

    the large wire(IIRC it's pink) should have 12V key on. the inhibit switch is on the passenger side head right at the back. I know the orange wire goes to the dash light.

    does the controller make any noises?

    have you confirmed 12V at the studs?

    I'll see what I can dig up for ya.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Illinos
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    11241


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by just a number View Post
    the large wire(IIRC it's pink) should have 12V key on. the inhibit switch is on the passenger side head right at the back. I know the orange wire goes to the dash light.

    does the controller make any noises?

    have you confirmed 12V at the studs?

    I'll see what I can dig up for ya.
    Thanks, here's what I've got so far...
    There is no Inhibit Switch mounted on the top of the head, only a delete plate where it should be, unless it is mounted elsewhere..?

    The connector on the controller has 4 wires to the 4 pins, BCD and E. Pin C, I thought, was for the inhibit switch, I don't know what C is connected to.

    The controller clicks once when the key is turned to the on position.

    The controller has about a half inch crack in the case at the battery stud.

    I'll test the controller and glow plugs with an ammeter in the morning...

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Illinos
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    11241


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by just a number View Post
    the large wire(IIRC it's pink) should have 12V key on. the inhibit switch is on the passenger side head right at the back. I know the orange wire goes to the dash light.

    does the controller make any noises?

    have you confirmed 12V at the studs?

    I'll see what I can dig up for ya.

    Just an update,
    Went through the troubleshooting checklist in the Haynes manual,
    fuse, glow plugs, batteries, controller all checked out with key in the off position, kept getting
    some funky voltage readings with ignition on... went back through all the battery connections, found that the battery cable to the starter had melted insulation and had welded itself to the heat shield below the starter...one new cable, all systems checked out, truck runs good as new...
    Thanks for all the help,
    Warne

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Trenton ON
    Posts
    1,419
    Member #
    649
    Member of Old School Smokers



    Default

    gm went el cheapo when it came to wiring. most of it is undersized. what gauge did you put in for a new cable?

    the inhibit switch is down beside the injector.
    Last edited by just a number; 06-23-2012 at 09:30 AM. Reason: forgot something

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Illinos
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    11241


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by just a number View Post
    gm went el cheapo when it came to wiring. most of it is undersized. what gauge did you put in for a new cable?

    the inhibit switch is down beside the injector.
    I just picked up a 4 gauge cable from the local auto parts store..
    Do I need something heavier?

    Ok was looking elsewhere for the switch...
    Thanks

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Trenton ON
    Posts
    1,419
    Member #
    649
    Member of Old School Smokers



    Default

    the winter months you'll want to be heavier than that. IIRC stock is 2 gauge. 4 will hold for the summer. how's the rest of the cables look?

    which starter are you using the 27(direct drive,older design) or the 28(gear reduction)? it does make a difference of how big of cable you need.

    the nice cables are alot bigger.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Illinos
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    11241


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by just a number View Post
    the winter months you'll want to be heavier than that. IIRC stock is 2 gauge. 4 will hold for the summer. how's the rest of the cables look?

    which starter are you using the 27(direct drive,older design) or the 28(gear reduction)? it does make a difference of how big of cable you need.

    the nice cables are alot bigger.
    All the cables are 4 gauge, good condition... maybe about 3 years old...

    Do I need to look at replacing all the wiring in the truck, or just the heavy duty wires?

    What do I look for on the starter..?, it's a rebuilt from Advance Auto... replaced about the same time as the cables.
    Thanks

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Trenton ON
    Posts
    1,419
    Member #
    649
    Member of Old School Smokers



    Default

    if the cables are in good shape leave them till you start to have issues. you only need to change the heavy set.

    the differences to look at the starter is the 27(older) housing is about 4" across and is straight with the nose cone. the 28 is small across and offset to the nose. I think its higher than the nose when mounted.

    one more note on starters, make sure the front bracket is on there. they have a tendency to cause problems is you don't.

    hows the winter starting on it?

    a bit off topic but have you done the bolt mod yet? it's worth the time and effort.
    http://www.thetruckstop.us/forum/sho...ry-Connections

  12. #12

    Default

    I'd go much bigger than 4 gauge. I'm running 1/0 gauge cables for the battery crossover and both grounds, and 2/0 gauge to my starter. The engine might as well do a flip when starting, even in the dead of winter.

    4 gauge will end up melting on you if you have to crank the engine for any length of time.

    Find yourself a local auto-electric shop. They can make you some heavy duty battery cables of you don't have the time to make them yourself.

    1996 GMC Sierra SL C2500HD regular cab 6.5L turbo diesel "F" vin Boost and EGT on A-pillar, Heath remote FSD,Heath Max-e-torq GL4, Heath Turbomaster, 3" DP,2.5" crossover, 5" stacks AMSOIL
    85 K-5 Blazer, 379T Detroit Diesel , SM465/NP208 "The Rust Bucket"

    "People should not be afraid of their governments, governments should be afraid of their people." - V

    How can liberals stand up to terrorists, when they can't even stand up to fox news?

    DTR Old School Smokers Club #2

    Stomp On The Right Pedal Club Member #28


    DTR Brotherhood of Handshakers Member #37



  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Illinos
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    11241


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by just a number View Post
    if the cables are in good shape leave them till you start to have issues. you only need to change the heavy set.

    the differences to look at the starter is the 27(older) housing is about 4" across and is straight with the nose cone. the 28 is small across and offset to the nose. I think its higher than the nose when mounted.

    one more note on starters, make sure the front bracket is on there. they have a tendency to cause problems is you don't.

    hows the winter starting on it?

    a bit off topic but have you done the bolt mod yet? it's worth the time and effort.
    http://www.thetruckstop.us/forum/sho...ry-Connections
    Thanks for the info on the starter, I'll have to check the front bracket, don't remember if I hooked it up or not.
    Winter starts take a while if it is left out for any length of time... if I can, on real cold days, I make sure to start it every couple hours... I keep the block heater plugged in at home, starts right up with the heater. If it is below -10, I try not to park it for any length of time with out the block heater.
    I did the bolt mod when I replaced the battery cables, there was an improvement.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Illinos
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    11241


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iamdave0887 View Post
    I'd go much bigger than 4 gauge. I'm running 1/0 gauge cables for the battery crossover and both grounds, and 2/0 gauge to my starter. The engine might as well do a flip when starting, even in the dead of winter.

    4 gauge will end up melting on you if you have to crank the engine for any length of time.

    Find yourself a local auto-electric shop. They can make you some heavy duty battery cables of you don't have the time to make them yourself.
    Thanks, I will look into getting new cables for the winter, I didn't realize they made that much of a difference... I know when I replaced the originals with 4 gauge, there was a noticeable improvement.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Illinos
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    11241


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iamdave0887 View Post
    I'd go much bigger than 4 gauge. I'm running 1/0 gauge cables for the battery crossover and both grounds, and 2/0 gauge to my starter. The engine might as well do a flip when starting, even in the dead of winter.

    4 gauge will end up melting on you if you have to crank the engine for any length of time.

    Find yourself a local auto-electric shop. They can make you some heavy duty battery cables of you don't have the time to make them yourself.
    Is there enough room for the large cables to connect to the side mounts, especially the drivers side? There isn't a lot of room between the battery and radiator on that side, I only did the bolt mod on the passenger side battery...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Glow Plug Controller Function
    By doober in forum GM 6.5 Diesel Engines
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-28-2010, 01:01 AM
  2. Glow Controller
    By ak diesel driver in forum GM 6.5 Diesel Engines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 02:49 AM
  3. LB7 Glow Plug Controller and Glow Plugs Removal
    By ripmf666 in forum GM Specs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 04:27 AM
  4. 94 glow controller
    By ak diesel driver in forum GM 6.5 Diesel Engines
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-08-2010, 08:30 PM
  5. WTB: 1985+ 6.2 glow plug controller
    By iamdave0887 in forum Closed classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 03:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •