• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

What's going on? Odd sounding idle at times

12ga diesel

Jack of all, Master of none
Reaction score
I'm still learning things with my Cummins, even 9 months after buying it, and now with almost a full winter under my belt with this truck, I hear an odd idle sound both when the engine is cold and warmed up. It doesn't happen all the time, just once in a while. You will hear it run nice and smooth for the most part, I'm guessing 98% of the time. But once in a while you will hear it like it's missing. This might happen for about 5 to 6 seconds, then it goes away. Doesn't affect how the truck runs, just happening during idle. And ideas or something I need to look for. Thanks for any info.

The filter thats on right now is only a few thousand miles old. But I hear this with either a brand new filter or one that is ready to be spun off and replaced and anywhere in between. That was my first thought (fuel filter) when I first started hearing it, but it was in late summer/early fall, and the filter (stock filter) was only a couple hundred miles old when I first heard it, but I didn't hear it again for quite some time after that. So I'm guessing its not something to do with the temp outside. And like I said, its nothing that hurts performance or when I'm driving the truck. Just every so often, I hear it. Since I first heard it, I'm guessing I have heard it about 10-12 times or so.