• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

What t-stat cooling upgrade is the best?

So dont listen to an argument that it doesnt spend enough time in the radiator.

Made my living as an Electrical Engineer, so I will readily admit that my understanding of thermodynamics, while being better than rudimentary, is still a just a bit beyond the basics. It was one of the very few courses that I actually hated...
That being said: Even as an old retired guy I guess I'm still a student and would really appreciate it if you would share your knowledge with the rest of us. I truely realize what a complicated system this is and would like to get my truck operating as well as I can so that it will run forever :rolleyes5:

-- Well, For as long as possible :smile5:. Since HEAT KILLS - Controlling the engine's heat is, no doubt, one of THE keys to it's longevity.

I guess where I'm getting lost is because my bucket truck is pretty heavy all of the time, even if I'm not towing something. It was showing a tendency to get pretty hot on long grades a while back, but just cleaning the radiator solved that problem. I'd guess that after 13+ years that the water pump impeller is probably getting near the end of its service life and that it should be changed - But to what?