• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Turbo upgrade

I’ve no knowledge on air or exhaust throttles on diesels. I understand how they can lower rpm, both with it’s disadvantages.

Close exhaust while rest of engine wants to keep going is going to trap heat and increase soot build up.
Restricted intake air is how to make a nice smoke machine- haha.

A super elaborate computer controlled set up restricting everything in porportion makes sense that it could work.

But to zombie day/ junkyard rig any computer controlled engine you can always rip things down to basic mechanical feed and Control any diesel by fuel input alone and same for any gas engine by air.

If you have any examples or info on the ones using air exhaust, I would love to read up...

Thats right it’s the basics. Now I feel like I should go back to school. Especially now where there are Diesel engines using air throttles and exhaust throttles.

That would be awesome if you could get a kit built for the center mount turbo guys to give them more options. I’ve seen a couple hummers for sale around here lately. All out of my price range but I’ve always thought it would be fun to own one.

I’ve got a buddy at work that has a wicked wheel on his 7.3 and swears by it. Most of the info I found on the wicked wheel says that it started out as a fix for the fords where the turbo would surge and wasn’t ever really for performance so that always made me wonder if it was worth anything on the 6.5.