• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Towing pontoon boat...TERRIBLE MILEAGE

I've been saying I'm getting a fumoto oil drain valve since 2004 when I bought my LLY. Just havent gotten around to it yet. Mainly, because I'm retarded and evidently enjoy oil everywhere, especially running down my arm and pooling into my skid plates.

You've outlined the jist of my latest fiasco. First couple oil changes went off without a hitch, when the truck was brand new and before I re-contoured the skid plate. Now that the skid plate has some custom curves to it (thank you GM, btw, for making my g-d truck so low to the ground) I get oil all over the place.:mad2:

On Topic for this thread though, last summer I was in the scrap metals business on the weekends and I'd pull about 8-9k behind my truck + stuff in the bed and the lowest I remember getting was around 14.# mpg.

Don't go by color. These trucks dirty up oil pretty quick. Go by mileage and use.

I don't want to do a Fumoto valve, because I hate the thought of one more thing under there to catch on and rip off, consequently costing a motor. We do a lot of driving in corn fields, etc. and knowing my dad, he'd find a way to rip it off. I have no issues doing oil changes on the D-max with a standard drain plug.

We contacted the dealer to make sure the oil was changed. It had been. I think his looks dirtier than mine because I have the egr blocked, plus I forgot how dirty the oil gets in these trucks. :rolleyes5: