• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Took 40 Years!!

cornemuse

Reaction score
I've been driving diesel powered for 40 years now. (1st was a brand new '79 VW Rabbit diesel) (needed a new car to bring my new daughter home from the hospital!) VW, Chev, Datsun, MBZ. Anyway, I never ran one out of fuel till last week. I keep track of mileage to avoid just this. Drove home the Blazer & parked her. Next day would not start. I knew it was low on fuel, but thought it was still OK. Nope. Went & got 15 gallons of fuel in the MBZ, & filled the Blazer. Did like the book said for changing fuel filter, finally got 'er running. Gauge showed ½ + fuel. Drove to my bros home for Easter & drove home, about 35 miles. gauge swung to less than half. Yesterday took the three 5 gal cans & filled the Blaz & the cans. 31 gallons! Popped the hood at home & looked for leaks. The nozzle leak return lines (the rear driver side nozzle) both the plug & the line to the next (fwd) nozzle were gushing fuel to the ground. & not anywhere on the vehicle. Well not abnormally (its 35 yrs old & already filthy). I did not know how much bypass leakage there is involved! Nozzles rebuilt about 50,000 miles ago with 'Diesel Kiki' (Japanese Bosch?) nozzles. Anywayz, it seems to start better now than for the last few years, , , , go figure.

-c-