• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Time for new Clutch? 1999 K3500 NV4500

ngb

Reaction score
Hi All!

I have a 1999 GMC K3500 that I've had for a little over a year. The truck has 205,000 miles on it but according to the previous owner, the engine should only have ~140,000. It has the 5-speed manual transmission and recently I've been having some trouble with it.

I'm not an expert when it comes to diesel engines or the NV4500, so hopefully you can share some of your knowledge with me. I am however, a avid car guy and spend a lot of time wrenching under the hoods of my other cars (Volvos).

Anyway, it's been a little tough to get the truck into gear in the morning but today it was impossible. If I started the truck in neutral, there was no way I could get the truck into 1st or any other gear and if I started it in gear, it would start moving as soon as I let off the brake, even if the clutch was all the way in.

About 3 months ago I had some trouble getting it into gear, but the trouble mysteriously disappeared until now.

So first off, this sounds like the clutch it going, right?

Second, could it be anything else?

Third, how much should I expect to pay to have the clutch replaced?

Any other info pertinent to this issue is thoroughly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Here's a shot of the truck and one of my cars.

revolvfleet.jpg