• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

the !#%** 700r4 question

boxer10

Reaction score
Hi all.
I am new here, got a long-winded tranny problem. I have a 1987 chevy cutaway (box truck) 1 ton, 350 engine, dually. The original transmission burned up and I had to buy a used tranny (funds were non-existent) to replace it with. I have very little knowledge of transmissions, and the shop did the replacement with a used 700r4 for $500. I tow a small enclosed trailer with my motorcycle in it, probably weigh's in at a little over 2000 lbs. 500 miles later, this tranny would no longer shift, so I had it rebuilt. After the rebuild, the shop owner said he is no longer in business and the overdrive in the transmission does not work- he said it's no problem because I should not tow in overdrive anyway. Yeah, I know, red flags all over the place. But the guy gave me a big discount. My wife and I are on SS, the only income we have. Anyway, now the tranny won't shift out of first unless I punch the accelorator to the floor real quick, and then it shifts. I do not have the resources to take care of a new rebuild myself(we are both disabled). My question is: Should I buy a new transmission from Jasper or the like, or should I have this 700r4 rebuilt by a reputable builder? And, since my indicator on the steering column says P R D 3 2 1, could it be possible that this is not even the original transmission that came with the truck? If not, is this 700r4 better than the origin