• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Ignition Switch

Silverado6.5td

Diesel Powered Chevy
Reaction score
Hello, I am new to this diesel forum and have learned allot by reading posts over the last 4-5 hours while my truck was plugged in and had a battery charger hooked up to it because it wouldn't start, although it has been parked for a few months and it is has been up to -40C around here, but only -18C today.

I was surprised when I went out and it started like it was +30C. I let it idle for about 45 minutes and then started out on a little drive and realized my vehicle registration expired on December 31/08 so I got back home right away.

Anyways, since I have owned this truck(about 2 years now) the ignition switch does not go back to the accessory position like any other vehicle. I thought it might be normal for a diesel truck so never did anything about it, but now I believe it is not normal.

Is my ignition switch buggered up? Do I need a new one? Any suggestions would be greetly appreciated.

Thanks
Rob

Welcome to the site! The ign. switch should behave like any other. Try spraying some WD-40 into the key slot and see if it frees it up. Leo
  • Edit: Nice to see another fellow Albertan here. It was a nice warm day wasn't it?
    :D

Wait, are you saying it stays in the "start" position? Or, does it jump back to the "run" position? There are 4 positions: Off-Acc-Run-Start.