• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

help wot start im new to this diesel life

flow11234

Reaction score
So I’m new to the diesel life, I brought a 2008 Silverado 3500hd dually 6.6L Duramax turbo charged with 205k miles. So I brought it knowing it wasn’t starting, when I got the truck I started trying to do my own diagnostic lol. The check engine light was on and the scan tool obd2 codes the truck was putting out was p0113, p0676, p0677, p0678, p0102, p0675, p0533, p0166c. I change the batteries, glow plus and pumped up the purge canister. The truck cranks over very strong and long but no start. So I checked the fuse box and according to the diagram slot [20] is the fuel pump 20A. so I checked it and there is no power whether the key is on or off. So I manually powered the fuse box slot by hotwiring it directly to the battery, still nothing. So to me it should like the truck was looking for fuel. I went and brought start fluid and sprayed 3 shoots and the truck start right up with no problem, but it shut off after 2 to 3 minutes. I was told I have bad injectors what do you guys think

Don't use ether to start a diesel unless you are comfortable with replacing the engine. The risk isn't worth it. Hopefully you disabled the glow plugs when using it or they are done.

What is the rail pressure when cranking?