• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

HELP! I am not a mechanic!

makemeinfamous89

Reaction score
I have a 96 chevy 2500. 2wd. And I need to change the steering box, steering shaft, and basically the whole front end. O, and the exhaust. My friend gave me a 99 2500 just like mine. Everyone I've talked to says the parts are compatible but when I look online I can't get a straight answer. Please can anyone give me a straight answer

Steering gearbox and shafts should interchange no problem. May want to replace the hoses going to the box while you're at it, if corroded at all the nuts won't swivel on the steel lines and just twist the lines until they break.

When you say front end, keep in mind there are some significant differences between 2wd and 4wd models, like lower control arms that aren't interchangeable. Double check part #s as suggested before tearing into things