• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Going back to 6.2.

stopit

Reaction score
I've had two catastrophic crank failures in my 1995 K 3500 within 100,000. I owned a 6.2 in an 85 K 1500 that went on and on but finally gave up due to starter bolts failure cracking off the block. Found 1984 6.2 engine in a Winnebago 95,000 actual. The engine so cleans it doesn't even have usual oil residue under air cleaner. I am a professional diesel mech and have rebuilt ebuilt several 6.5 and 6.2's. plan on at least putting new rod and mains with H/V oil pump and using 6.5 parts on the engine. Any recommendations? I am 60 and just plain tired of changing engines.

The main difference or trouble area is a turbo, most 6.2's aren't turbo, the turbo adds so much cylinder pressure that over time the main webs fail and in turn the crank, I would highly recommend splayed main caps, I stock them if you go that way... If you do add a turbo then droping down to 18:1 compression will greatly help, I also offer piston machining if needed...

Welcome.

Above info and his services are on point.

In huge fleet of 6.5 where we did testing for gm, learned what the main issues are to bottom end failure.