• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Does anyone else shift with no clutch?

The only trans I don't clutch is the 4 speed without syncro's in my 5&4 grain truck

Other then taking off from a stop I have been doing it loaded or unloaded for 12 years in my 94 NV4500. A year after I bought it the truck the clutch pivot ball wore out and I pulled the clutch and replaced it. 80,000 miles later the crankshaft broke so I changed the engine. I bought another clutch plate but got looking at and the old one looked great! In fact when I took a micrometer to the old plate it was .003 thicker then the brand new one!!!!

Everybody, myself included, thinks they are an amazing driver, and shifting perfectly is part of that.

I oversteer sometimes, and come in on the clutch hot sometimes. Most people won't admit it. I'm ok with it because I'm secure in my manhood (Leroy, please insert joke here).

My point? AMT Automated Manual Transmission. Drivers can say what they want, nacfe can say what they want, federal gubmint well nobody cares what they say. AMT gives longer clutch life, longer transmission life, better mpg, faster 0-60. It is more $ on day one, other than that it wins 99.9% of the time. Why, cuz people are not machines.

Before you argue your different situation...I almost bought a house moving business. Not the stuff in the house, move the buildings. No AMT there. I get it- sometimes an amazingly exceptional driver can beat the odds.