• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

diagnosis needed, rpm-dies w/ gear engagement-hard start

deejaaa

Diesel Beginner
Reaction score
i have been running wvo mix for a few months but have decided it's not worth it, between fuel filter changes and being stranded, those days are over. think i have IP damage but i want to rule out anything else.
after it sits overnight, it will start pretty easy, just a few revolutions. after sitting 8 hours in the day, hard to start with a lot of cranking, priming with wd40, and will die when dropped in gear, then i will do it all again to start. if i rev it up before i drop in gear, it will keep running. rpm had slowed down to 4-500 so i idled it up, around 900, to keep it running. filter is new, pressure at 7 idle, 5-6 running. no sock. was running great last week, all it took was a short crank to start. i didn't even need to give it any pedal. LP is new. have maybe 30,000 miles on this IP.
have another IP, that i will increase case pressure/fuel delivery, that i can drop in but want to rule out any other suspects. any thoughts?

BTW, this is the 93.
trans is manual control. tcc is manual control. mods are in sig.

TCC manual controll or not,...sol could still be stuck closed.Check for codes
Look for air in IP return line (clear tubing)with the hard start(wriggle the trottle shaft)