• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

New Member from CT - upgrading a 95 Chevy K1500 5.7

rbaigs

Reaction score
Hi all, - Rob ( I'm a noob ) here from CT. Recently got my father's truck for my son - its a 95 chevy k1500 5.7l. Did some upgrades on it - had an exhaust leak so installed new headmen headers, a Holley aftermarket TBI, K&N cold air filter, performance ignition, dual exhaust ( ditched the catalytic converter - since the truck is older and no longer requires emissions. ( pic attached below ) along with a perf chip from Jett..

I do have a few questions - - I did have to advance the timing a bit - due to truck seemingly having a low throttle response. I also have a leak in the intake manifold and wanted to something performant. Any suggestions? can I ditch the EGR ? ( was considering the Edelbrock or a Holley ) - Edelbrock said something about a spacer? ( if the blades and ports don't match ) = anyone has experience with that? Lastly - any suggestion on what plugs to run? ( a bit warmer or colder? - since the exhaust seems richer ) - otherwise, the truck is super clean w/only 75k miles on it. Sat in the garage most of its life.

Oh, lastly - I assume this is not a Vortec motor? since I noticed that it has 12 bolts on the manifold 6 on each side.

Thanks in advance for any insight.

IMG_0837.jpg

Last edited: