• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

What should I get first?

97duallydiesel

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a Newbie to the diesel blogs and am a dry sponge thirsting for knowledge.. I'll tell ya alittle about my background . Ive always been a Chevy/ Gmc man and have had a gas powered trucks up until the latest 97 GMC K3500 Dually Diesel 6.5 turbo 4X4. 250K miles
The GMC is in great condition inside and out and was sitting in a Boat yard not running.( Hole in fuel line and starter) I offerd The owner some cash and he sold to me as is.
The following has been done: New fuel line,fuel filter,fuel sending unit,fuel manager/filter housing.
New brake lines from rear to front ,new front calipers,pads and e brake cable
New oil cooler and tranny cooler lines, new oil cooler.
new belt ,starter ,two batteries ,vacuum pump,turbo wastegate soln,boost ensor.Head light switch .
AC pump, ac radiator and hoses removed. New OEM pulley relocator .I added a rear defrost with new rear window.
I added SSDiesel 4" exhaust and stainless tip, SSDiesel Air intake.
I'm in process of installing Autometer vacuum/turbo and tran temp gauges in the overhead console.

The truck runs excellent ,no stalling and no problems. I primarily bought it to plow snow with but I love it so much it's my everyday driver.

My question is what should I do next for performance??

EGT Gauge, ATT Turbo and then a Heath chip.

If you can not afford a ATT right away get a turbo master or make your own.