• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Smoking pmd

Jr5150

Reaction score
Howdy,
I'm a newbie to this site. I have a 1996 GMC Serria 6.5 with 177k miles. While driving along the truck ran away. I quickly turned the key it stopped. I managed to coast to a driveway. Had it towed back home. At home,I noticed when the key is turned on to wts smoke started comming out of where the pmd is(still on the side of the IP) and I could hear a sizzle as if something was burning. I unplugged the pmd connector turned key no smoke or sizzle. Ordered new pmd from ATRACYPART(not sure what manufacturer)plugged in, no smoke but engine will not start, not even trying too. Purged valve at the fuel filter good fuel there. Did the same with the t handle on the IP, seemed to have good fuel. Checked shut off solenoid looks good, I removed it and it's pulling in with key on. Loosened injector line no fuel dripping out when cranking. Removed 4 glow plugs driver side did the cranking sequence and no fuel. Could I have a air locked IP? Assuming the new pmd is good I plan on removing the 8 GPs and try to get fuel drip at the injector. Any advice would be great.
Thanks

I would question that PMD. If You are close to a parts store, it might be possible one of them might have a PMD in stock.
If it were Me and mine, I would get on Leroydiesel.com and order the Flight Systems PMD and extension harness to get the PMD relocated to behind the front bumper.