• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Hudson546

Reaction score
Hey guys I picked up a 1994 Chevy 2500 with the 6.5 diesel. I got it cheap due to a mysterious transmission issue. It has the 4l80e and it refuses to go into overdrive or exceed 40mph.

I pulled the codes and got 73 81 and 82 and if I’m correct are all transmission related solenoid codes.

I’m not a mechanic by any form of imagination and my electrical knowledge is even less impressive, but I find it hard to believe all of these solenoids would go bad at the same time. I would be more inclined to believe a bad solenoid if it was one or even two of them. So with that being said does anyone have any suggestions on where to start with this problem? I know this kind of thing wasn’t unheard of on these trucks.

Leroy Diesel has a program that will load into a computer.
It might help determine what the problem is.
You could try cleaning every ground connection You can find.
One bad ground could cause multiple solenoids to fail.

Welcome to TTS..as for electrical, these trucks can be a nightmare. But I agree(1 not likely all solenoids failed at same time..but a bad ground/ cable can do all kinds of crazy things.. definitely clean grounds, especially the one with 3 different cables on it at back passenger side of the intake..right below the tranny dipstick.
I'm sure other guys will also chime in soon with advice and there experiences.