• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

New Hummer H1 owner in Las Vegas

VegasHummer

Reaction score
A fellow member on the Hummer Network site referred me over here to gain insight on my new 6.5 TD engine in my 2003 Hummer H1. I look forward to getting to know all of you and learning a lot from you. My background is almost all gas engine vehicles, except the other H1 I owned 20 years ago. My primary concern is reliability. I have had the truck for a few weeks and just had the stock starter fail on me. We replaced it with the Powermaster 9052 and all is well. BUT, that got me thinking about what other known weaknesses may exist and what should I replace in the interest of reliability. The truck will be driven several days a week and reliability is my primary concern. I am not looking for performance mods, just good old fashioned reliability.

IMG_0893.jpgIMG_0894.jpgIMG_0725.jpg

Hello VH, that unit is a beauty and welcome to the forum.
When You replaced the starter, was the engine to forward end of the starter brace attached ?
If not, do not even attempt to start that engine before getting on leroydiesel.com and getting one of those braces, he may also have the new starter bolts too, at the least, get that brace installed before the starter busts the starter bolts!

Glad to see ya here. These are the guys to ask about details on the ds4 for sure when that chaos starts, and it will.