• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

How do you guys store engines?

n8in8or

I never met a project I didn’t like
Reaction score
I have a few 6.5s I’m going to be tearing down, inspecting and then storing soon. The way I’ve been storing V8 engines for about 10 years now is: I disassemble them to the short block, oil the surfaces, double bag it in heavy gauge bags and then make a skid that cradles the mains. Final thing is strap the block to the skid so I can move it around with a 2 wheel cart without it falling off. (I don’t have any pics of this at the moment, but wanted to ask while I was thinking of it). The heads I oil and stand on end on a shelf. The intake and any other parts like front cover, tin, etc, go in plastic totes.

I’m just wondering if anyone else has found something that they like to do that works well for them and maybe has an idea I haven’t thought of. Thanks for any thoughts!

I believe that is what the SKS' and other Soviet rifles were stored in. Not that I would know.